Fresh Fig Jam

Fig trees produce so much fruit. I can go out to my back yard every day and fill a bucket with ripe figs. Just when I thought the tree had given me all it could, I go back again the next day and there they are…more beautiful, delicious, ripe figs!

  

I love fresh figs, but I can’t eat them by the bucket, so whatever I don’t give away to friends and neighbors I turn into Homemade Fig Jam.

 

Fig Jam Recipe:

4 c. fresh figs
3 c. sugar
Juice of 1 lemon
Thin sliced lemon rind (about 1/4 lemon)
1/4 tsp. ground cloves
1/2 tsp. cinnamon

Preparation:

  1. Wash the figs thoroughly, then stem and chop them.
  2. Place the figs in a saucepan and cover with the sugar. Add 1 cup of water and slowly bring to a boil. Lower heat to medium.
  3. Stir often to prevent sticking. Add lemon juice and spices and cook 5 minutes longer. This year, I added a bit of Campari to the jam giving it a wonderful bitter-orange accent.
  4. For long-term storage, pour into hot sterilized jars to 1/2 inch from top. Seal. Process 15 minutes in a boiling water bath.

* You don’t have to sterilize the jars if you are refrigerating the jam.

Leave a Reply

