Crispy Plantain Croutons

In the Caribbean, the most popular way to prepare a plantain is fried. Plantains are peeled, sliced into rounds, fried, lightly pounded to flatten and then fried again, resulting in the classic snack…tostones.

The tostones are traditionally served with a raw garlic sauce.

I love tostones but I wanted to experiment a little. I’ve made plantain chips many times and those are always fun and easy but I wanted to try something different, so I cut the plantain into small cubes and fried them twice. After removing from the oil, I tossed them with salt and granulated garlic.

These easy to make nuggets are a great snack but also add wonderful texture to many salads as a nutrition-packed substitute for croutons.

Leave a Reply

